Telling Lies

Evans The Death

Telling Lies

SLR 165 » released March 2012

» $4.50
DIGITAL » Apple Music |  Amazon |  eMusic
1. Telling Lies
2. Morning Voice (Acoustic)

As we await the self-titled debut album from Slumberland's newest signings with baited breath, Evans the Death release the first single from the album, "Telling Lies", on March 6. This comes as a necessary wake-up call, heralding an outstanding new band, bursting with ideas and brimming with talent.

Combining Katherine Whitaker's unique vocals with a gift for melody, the band weave a distinctive magic. "Telling Lies" is an infectious and exhilarating slice of indie-punk-pop. Guitarist Dan Moss describes the song like this:

"Telling Lies is about having such an inflated sense of self-importance that you relish deceiving others about things that make no difference whatsoever to their lives. I wrote it after a friend told me that he had eaten cereal for breakfast that morning, but later found the remnants of toast and scrambled eggs in his room and brought him up on it which lead to the admission that he was lying all along. I found this bizarre but then realised that I did it all the time too."  "The B-side is the original version of 'Morning Voice', which is on our album in a completely different incarnation. We took a long time to arrive at the sound we have now; when we first started out we were a folksy acoustic duo and this I think is the best example of that."

Named after the undertaker in Dylan Thomas's Under Milk Wood, Evans the Death comprise of Dan Moss (guitar, vocals), Katherine Whitaker (vocals, keys), Olly Moss (guitar), Rob Mitson (drums), and newest member Lan McCardle (bass) — original guitarist Matt Gill having left the band following the completion of the album. 

The band document and channel the exuberance of youth via the prism of five pop music obsessives, gleaning inspiration from all of the music with which they grew up. They draw as much from the lyrical dexterity of Morrissey and Jarvis Cocker, as from the scuzzed-up melodic exuberance of early My Bloody Valentine and The Pixies.

"There's sharp songwriting at play here. The hooks are all in the right place, brash and urgent in the very best way." -- This Is Fake DIY

"a wonderful marriage of converse elements elegantly crafted into its own neat mess" (5 Stars) -- Artrocker

"…plenty of wit and masses of noise, a marker for even better things to come." -- Soundsxp


All copies on white vinyl with a cool silver-embossed sleeve.

A co-release with Fortuna POP! records in Europe. Please support your local indie label.

nice color

see also » Vanilla LP/CD

see also » Expect Delays LP/CD

see also » Catch Your Cold 7"

see also » Evans The Death LP/CD

« show all Evans The Death releases

« back to available releases